12 Apostles of New Spain

The 12 Apostles of New Spain were 12 Franciscan missionaries who arrived in the newly founded Viceroyalty of New Spain in May 1524, with the goal of evangelizing the indigenous population to the Christian faith.

The group consisted of:

  1. Martín de Valencia (their leader)
  2. Francisco de Soto,
  3. Martín de Jesús,
  4. Juan Juárez,
  5. Antonio de Ciudad Rodrigo,
  6. Toribio de Benavente Motolinia,
  7. García de Cisneros,
  8. Luis de Fuensalida,
  9. Juan de Ribas,
  10. Francisco Jiménez,
  11. Andrés de Córdoba, and
  12. Juan de Palos

Our Lady of Guadalupe appeared in 1531.

Holy Apostles of New Spain, pray for us!

Comments Policy: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic. If your comment contains a hyperlink to another site, your comment automatically goes into "Comments Purgatory" where it waits for release by way of moderation.