The Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit in Scripture and Tradition

Catholic theology follows Isaiah 11:2-3 in enumerating the “Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit.”

The Hebrew version lists six gifts; however, the Septuagint Greek text (which the Apostles and the Catholic Church hold as privileged) lists seven gifts of the Holy Spirit:

Hebrew Version:
The Spirit of the LORD will rest on Him,
The spirit of (1) wisdom and (2) understanding,
The spirit of (3) counsel and (4) fortitude,
The spirit of (5) knowledge and the (6) fear of the LORD.

Greek Septuagint (and Latin Vulgate) Version:
And the Spirit of the Lord shall rest upon Him,
the Spirit of (1) wisdom, and of (2) understanding,
the Spirit of (3) counsel, and of (4) fortitude,
the Spirit of (5) knowledge, and of (6) piety.
And he shall be filled with the Spirit of the (7) fear of the Lord.

This list runs thus:

  1. Wisdom
  2. Understanding
  3. Counsel
  4. Fortitude
  5. Knowledge
  6. Piety
  7. Fear of the Lord

Saint Augustine’s “Steps to Wisdom” in De doctrina christiana Book 2, Chapter 7 are arranged on this schema. Here’s a little piece that I wrote on how Augustine employs this: Augustine’s Seven Steps to Wisdom and the Gifts of the Holy Spirit

Download My Book for Free
Thomas Aquinas in 50 Pages
Over 15,000 copies downloaded! This is a quick and easy way to learn the basic philosophy and theology of Saint Thomas Aquinas. The Popes of the last 300 years have endorsed St Thomas Aquinas. Learn more through this accessible resources. Download it for free.

Comments Policy: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic. If your comment contains a hyperlink to another site, your comment automatically goes into "Comments Purgatory" where it waits for release by way of moderation.